top of page
  • Writer's pictureLunaLei

Why LunaLei?

Updated: Dec 6, 2018

Are you finding yourself looking at my website or Instagram and wondering "Why LunaLei?" "What does LunaLei mean?"


I am so glad you asked! ;-)


The name LunaLei comes from two sources! "Luna" comes from the original Latin name for "moon". Latin is commonly used to identify plants and herbs. Knowing the Latin names can actually help one find similar patterns in plants. Think first and last name in our common families today. Oftentimes, if a plant shares a common Latin name, they are part of the same family and may actually share similar traits (herby tip ;-)) I also chose Luna because I've always put my tinctures under the moon to sit. Why? We know all about ocean waves being affected by the moon, but did you know plants are too? There are multiple sources on how the moon affects energies and I apply that to my tinctures! I will be following up with a more in-depth entry on that soon.


Secondly, the name "Lei" is very simple, but very personal. My full name is Leilani Nelson and I was given the name "Leilani" to represent Hawaii where my mother grew up. Most are familiar with receiving a flower lei or maybe you've seen it on TV. "Lei" means flower in Hawaiian and that represents my heritage.


In the end, LunaLei is a merging of two things that represent my business. The moon's energy and my heart behind what I do.


I hope you find a home here and feel welcome to know about Herbalism through LunaLei.


Pōmaika`i, Blessings,


Leilani Nelson (Founder of LunaLei)




68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page